Privacy is a fundamental value
Protecting our users' privacy is a fundamental value for Dream to Learn. You can read the details below, but it's really pretty simple: we won't do anything for you or to you unless you give us permission to do so, and no matter what the letter of the law might allow us to do, we will do our utmost to respect the spirit of your expectations, and to honor your trust in us.
- We will NOT sell your personal information or share it with others unless you give us your explicit permission to do so. Our current intention is to never share your personal information - ever - but if in future we come up with ways of doing so that we think will be useful to you, we will tell you about them, and then only share your information if you give us your explicit permission to do so.
- We can share information about the Dream to Learn population in aggregate forms, so long as we don't share any information that could be traced to any individuals or organizations.
- You have complete control over the visibility of your content; you can choose to make it visible to only DTL members, to your Colleagues, to specific people or to only yourself. When you publish content or information using the Everyone or guests setting, it means that you are allowing all visitors, including people not registerd on Dream to Learn, to access and use that information, and to associate it with you.
- In the event that there is a problem - a breach of security or privacy, we will advise community and platform users as quickly as possible.
- If you sign in using Google or Facebook, we will collect your email address. We will use it only to identify you, unless you ask us to send you email (more on that below). We will never share your email address with anyone else.
- You can choose to share content on Facebook, but we will only do that when you explicitly initiate the action. In general we err on the side of asking you to confirm actions. So for example if you choose to share content on Facebook, you do so by first explicitly checking a box which by default is unchecked, and then you get a second Dream to Learn confirmation dialog where you need to click on a clearly-labeled button to proceed with the sharing.
- When you give us your email address, we won't send you email unless you ask us to; you have complete control over how often you receive email from us, or whether you receive email from us at all. In some limited cases we will send you one-time notifications, for example: if you 'follow' someone or some thing, and then miss updates over the course of three days we will send you a single email with an optional, and clearly identified link, that will allow you to turn on email updates for things you are following.
- If you login using Google or Facebook, we have access to only the information you explicitly choose to share with us. We never have access to your password.
We use Google Analytics to give us more information about our users in the aggregate, and to help us improve our service. We don't tie our Google analytics data to specific users. Here are the details of our analytics collecting:
- We have enabled Google Analytics Demographics and Interest Reporting, which enables Google Analytics to collect data about our traffic via the DoubleClick cookie in addition to data collected through the standard Google Analytics implementation
- We will not facilitate the merging of personally-identifiable information with non-personally identifiable information previously collected from Display Advertising features
- You can opt-out of Google Analytics for Display Advertising and customize Google Display Network ads globally using Google's Ads Settings here: https://www.google.com/settings/ads
- You can also opt out of Google Analytics using Google's free browser plugin, which is available here: https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout/